google-site-verification: google3b171968e7029222.html
 
Aboriginal foster care

AFSS Foster Care

Foster Care is also known as Family Based Care. Foster carers provide a home for children who are unable to live safely with their own families, through providing a secure, safe environment that caters for the physical and emotional needs of young people from birth to 18 years of age.

 

Types of care available

There are a number of services provided by AFSS foster carers:

 

  • Emergency care - from a day up to two weeks. Placements may be needed at short notice any time during the week, weeknights or weekends.

  • Short term care - from two weeks to two years. At the end of short term care a child or young person may return to their family or be placed in long term care.

  • Respite care - usually on weekends or school holidays. Carers provide planned, regular respite breaks for foster families and an extended support network for the child.

  • Long term care - for children and young people who need a family until their own family circumstances change or they turn 18.

 

Thinking about foster care?

Want to find out more about becoming a foster carer with AFSS or to transfer to AFSS. Send us an email: Assessments@afss.com.au

You can also contact the following staff at the Offices below for more information in your area:


Adelaide - Peter Dyer
assessments@afss.com.au

8205 1500


Ceduna - Michelle Naylon
michelle.naylon@afss.com.au

8625 3466


Coober Pedy - Amanda Zelenko
amanda.zelenko@afss.com.au

8672 3041


Murray Bridge - Rebecca Hansch
rebecca.hansch@afss.com.au

8532 1790


Mount Gambier - Cheryle Saunders
cheryle.saunders@afss.com.au

8725 6200


Port Augusta - Deb Merchant
deborah.merchant@afss.com.au

8641 0907


Port Lincoln - Toni-Lee Miller
toni-lee.miller@afss.com.au

8683 1909

You're already an AFSS foster carer?

Here you'll find lots of useful information to help you in your important role.

Child Safe Environments
Training for Metro Foster Carers

Contact Becky Matthews on 8205 1522 for more information.

 

Becoming A Carer

Current Carers

FAQ

Strong children, strong families. Stand with us - become a carer